It’s a moo point

I recently listened to an older episode of The Sound of Young America interviewing Judd Apatow (you should probably stop what you’re doing and listen to it right now – I’ll still be here when you get back). One of the things he talks about is when his career as a joke writer for various sitcoms took off. It got me thinking about some of my favorite lines of television. I thought I’d start cataloging them as I think of them and find them.

I never followed Friends closely, which is one of the reasons I like it so much. A good sitcom is designed so the viewer is able to tune into any episode of any season and know exactly what is going on, even if they’re not caught up or have never seen the show before. I think Friends does this particularly well; it’s easy to follow, interesting for exactly half an hour, and all the characters make you laugh to some degree. Phoebe was always my favorite, but this line from Joey sticks out as one of the more hilarious jokes on the show.

Leave a Reply

