Published on The Billfold!

My stepdad keeps threatening to kill my mom and I wrote about it. This isn’t the first time he’s made death threats, but it is the first time anyone has talked about it outside our house. Womp womp. Sorry, Mom. (I’m not really sorry.)

http://thebillfold.com/2013/01/i-need-to-do-everything-in-my-power-not-to-be-poor/

7 Comments to “Published on The Billfold!”

  1. This story really moved me and I relate to some aspects of it. It looks like you got some good suggestions. If you do need to care for your little sister, and it sounds like it would make an extraordinary difference in her life if you did and you have all the justification you need for the “system” I agree with some of your commenters: go all in, do it legally, become her guardian, get public assistance. I’m not sure how old you are, but you may find that it adds to the quality of your life. You’ll make friends and allies and it may connect you up with people who have had similar experiences to your own, and that’s invaluable going forward. You can have a life. There will be opportunities to go out, etc. Clothes can be had at 2nd hand stores. Having healthy food around/planning meals and budgeting for them will be good for her AND you. Do you know Dave Eggers? He and his after school tutoring center in SF might be a good scene to tap, as well. Thank you for sharing your vulnerabilities in the story though. I choked when I read the last part about having to be the one to make the awful calls, so maybe others can share the other burdens? So very often though that is just not how it works. There is no parity in the world of dysfunctional families. Just doing what seems right when you can, forgiving yourself when you can’t, and not otherwise keeping score. Good luck to you.

  2. I really liked your piece, so did a lot of other people there. You’re clearly a survivor if you’ve made it this far, it’s hardly surprising that you are determined to stay safe!

  3. I thought it was brilliant, and the title a good mantra for everyone (unless you are all set from the get go). I appreciated it all the more after having read Wurtzel’s meltdown in NY Mag last week. That was interesting, but it was all about only her. This one is true and revealing about you as a writer, but has plenty in it others can relate to. Big difference.

  4. I see so much of myself in this story. It’s posts like this that make me want to share my story too. I don’t know how old you are, but I’m so happy to see you rise from your situation/past life as a winner, as a survivor. Determined to make something out of yourself.

  5. How have you not written a memoir yet?

Leave a Reply

